good duck egg incubators that aren't really expensive

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by showjumper_girl2002, Jun 23, 2011.

1. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    going to be hatching my first set of muscovy eggs soon [​IMG] just need to find a good incubator. i'm not doing this for a business or anything so i don't want to spend loads of money on an incubator if there are inexpensive ones that work good for duck eggs. any opinions on brands? so far i'm leaning towards the little giant still air from my tractor supply store. does anybody have any experience with these? also is still or ok or do i need a circulating air fan? [​IMG]

2. kikidee

kikidee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    San Clemente
    I'm using a kinda crappy hova bator, its my first time too. What are you planning on hatching them for if not for business? Just curious [​IMG]
    -kiki

3. lovin my birds

lovin my birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Odessa, MO
    I have a LG still air but I only use it for chicken eggs. I have heard it doesnt keep a high enough humidity for duck eggs. I found out that it is hard to get my humidity up when I go into lockdown, but once it gets there it stays. I hope someone with more experience hatching duck eggs in the bator gets on here. I am letting my duck hatch hers. I got muscovys for the reason they go broody very well. Mine went broody for me two days after I brought her home. [​IMG]

4. showjumper_girl2002

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    [​IMG] my dad is the one that has the scovy's and I wanted to hatch a couple of his hens eggs for pets because I fell in love with the breed [​IMG]
    have heard they make great pets. If I am succesfull though my dad may want me to continue so he can sell them [​IMG] for now though I can't afford to spend a couple hundred dollors on something I may not use very often lol

5. lovin my birds

lovin my birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011