Good egg or bad egg???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by fortkevin10, Jan 9, 2014.

1. fortkevin10

fortkevin10 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2013
    I'm new to incubating. I have a small sized incubator, currently with only 7 eggs. I know 4 of them are for sure developing as I can clearly see the eye/blood veins. The other 3 eggs, I'm not so sure they are on track. I can't really tell because they are opaque. Should I keep them or throw them away? I would have to throw out a developing egg, but if I keep one, I heard they can explode. Also, are there any given sogns to tell if an egg isn't developing? Thanks!!!

2. BatonRougeChick

BatonRougeChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2013
    Denham Springs, LA
    My Coop
    I came to find an answer to this same question, so I will wait here!! I have to make a decision on mine that don't appear to be developing tonight. I'm so scared to kill a developing baby, but don't want them to explode if not. And some are too opaque to be sure!

3. BatonRougeChick

May 13, 2013
    Denham Springs, LA
    My Coop
    Well, I went ahead and candled them again and was pretty sure 4 did not develop. So I just opened them and thank God they didn't. So I have 4 left, 3 which are definitely developing, and 1 that I'm not sure about but I kept it.

4. BatonRougeChick

May 13, 2013
    Denham Springs, LA
    My Coop
    Here is the eye of one I just candled :)

[​IMG]

5. dcbcaaron

dcbcaaron Out Of The Brooder

Feb 3, 2009
    Dry Creek, LA
    the picture is kinda dark so it's hard to tell, how far along is your incubation? (i've never had an egg "explode" in the incubator)

6. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT