Good meat bird besides the Cornish X?

Buster52

Songster
10 Years
Jan 28, 2009
Geronimo Oklahoma
I'm new to this meat chicken stuff, and want to do this right not only for what is best as a grower, but what is best for me and my family. Our big thing is to raise and kill our meat (rabbit, fish, turkey, chicken) as humanely as possible.

I'm reading all of these horror stories about the Cornish X and have decided they aren't for me. No offense to those of you who raise and love them, but I feel for me it is raising an unnatural creature that probably suffers through its last days even if butchered at 8 weeks.

So, is there a good meat bird (preferably a heritage breed) that gives good meat, has a good size, an efficient feed-to-meat ratio that could work for us?

What is your favorite non-Cornish X meat bird?

Nothing converts feed to meat like the Cornish X. Your best bet is one of the "dual purpose" breeds like Australorps, Orpintons, Faverolles, Plymouth Rocks or Delawares (if you can find them). These are all fairly early maturing breeds.

Edit: I forgot to mention Wyandottes
smile.png

Last edited:
One of the dual purpose breeds or the newfangled (old school) French range breeds should do. As mentioned, nothing will flesh out like a Cx at ten weeks, but before there were Cornish X's, these were the birds used.

They often went with the white feathered varieties of birds like Rocks or Wyandottes, as they give a cleaner looking carcass after slaughter.

Excellent. I just happen to own a buff orpington rooster (my hens are all small breeds, though) and there is a hatchery here in OK that sells chicks. I'll order some pullets when I get a chance.

The other reason I'm looking for an alternative to the CX is because we want to be as self sufficient as possible, raising as much of our own food as possible. Shipping in birds every season kind of defeats that purpose (it makes us just slightly less self sufficeint), so we want a bird we can keep and breed long term.