Good morning from Oklahoma

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Annie C, Sep 26, 2016.

1. Annie C

Annie C New Egg

Sep 26, 2016
    OKC, OK
    Hello! My name is Annie and I'm new to chicken raising. I have 3 chickens and I got them to enjoy as pets. They don't live inside even though I raised them inside in a big plastic tub. I got them in the last few days of February at a hardware store near OKC. My granddaughter and I were just going to look and I walked out a chicken owner about 30 minutes later. What a pushover!
    My grandparents had chickens. That was my introduction to chickens and I have loved them ever since. However, I have found that loving them and successfully raising them are 2 different things. I tend to be a bit of a free spirit and because of this have found that I might not be as success at doing what I need to do for them as I should. So I've come on here to 1. See if others might be as less rigid as I am and 2. How to fix some of my/their issues before winter sets in. The only place I'm getting some advice is at a nearby grain and feed store and I'm beginning to think they aren't giving me the best advice so I came here and I know I will be glad I did.
    FYI, I have 3 different breeds and, therefore, different personalities and habits. I have one Transylvanian Naked Neck, or Turken, named Talullah, one Light Brahma, named Beulah, and one Buff Orphington named Ducky. Obvi, I got to name 2 (because I picked them out) and the granddaughter named hers... because she thought her chicken looked more like a duck to her than a chick. What can I say? She's 5.
    My Turken is by far the sweetest and best egg layer. If could have a whole crop of them, if I would. They are all divas. My Turken and BO are my only egg layers, with my BO only recently to start laying. My Turken has been laying since about 15 weeks old! (We didn't eat them.)