Good morning from snowy Central Oregon!


6 Years
Apr 16, 2013
Central Oregon
1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
I am VERY new to chickens. We got our chickens 2 days ago!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
We have 3 girls who are about 9 weeks old

(3) What breeds do you have?
They are Black Sex Link hens

(4) How did you find out about
I am notorious for researching every detail of new endeavours and while researching chicken questions, I kept getting led back here! I figured I should stop lurking and join!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
Horseback riding, homebrewing, gardening, food preservation, hiking, rock collecting, just generally geeking out in nature.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
I am newlywed (June 2012) and newly homesteading (August 2012) on 5 acres. We have 2 horses--a paint and an appy--and a mastiff in addition to the new chooks. I am a career soil scientist/conservationist and I try my d@mndest to live the most simplified and self sustaining life as I can.
Greetings from Kansas, wymanhomestead, and
! Pleased to have you aboard! Lots of folks going for the more self-sustaining lifestyle. I am as well - including the homebrewing. Good luck to you and your chickens - that is a great breed for egg production! Have fun!
Hello and welcome from glad you joined BYC

Love the sound of your lifestyle!! Headed that direction myself :)

Good luck with your new chicks. Enjoy

New posts New threads Active threads

Top Bottom