Good news and some concerns (really need advice here)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Clay In Iowa, Feb 12, 2009.

1. Clay In Iowa

Clay In Iowa Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2008
    Near Wilton Iowa
    I candled tonight and 11 of 12 of my Ameraucana eggs are developing!!!

Now for the concerns part. ALL the eggs have a bubble floating around where air cell should be. I'm guessing the postal monkeys used the box for foot ball practice... err. How much should I be concerned by this??? Can I alter the incubation conditions to help insure they hatch or am I just screwed? I'm currently running the incubator at about 50% humidity.

I'm very new to this and just have no Idea what to do?

2. Lollipop

Lollipop Chillin' With My Peeps

I`m new here, but old time cocker/chicken fancier. I`d say that shipped eggs with that kind of success is fantastic. Shipped eggs generally have a really poor hatch rate. Can`t comment on the humidity cause I hen hatch all my chicks. Someone will know. Good luck

3. twigg

twigg Cooped up

Mar 2, 2008
    Tulsa
    Quote:Keep it at 50, and just let it happen. Nothing you can do about the eggs except hope they are viable. Time will tell.

4. chickengirl124

chickengirl124 New Egg

Feb 12, 2009
    do not change the incubator conditions at all. The heat needs to consist at about 100 degrees and not go under 95.5 for more than 30 minutes. If there is a bubble, then wait until the 26th day to throw the eggs out if they don't hatch. If they do hatch then nothing to worry about! did you have water in the incubator though?

5. Clay In Iowa

Oct 9, 2008
    Near Wilton Iowa
    Water levels are fine. No problems there.

*Editors note What follows is an educated guess by a private pilot and frequent international traveler.

I have no numbers, haven't read anything, heard anyone say this, I'm just guessing here........