Goose egg day 32 no internal pip. HELP!

janelikesburds

In the Brooder
Nov 6, 2016
Hello. It's my first time incubating goose eggs. This egg was from one of my first year goose who started to get wet feather syndrome middle this year. Her symptoms became worse halfway through the incubation --she was completely soaked all the time, gradually turning into a bag of bones -- so I torn the nest. Since she doesn't really hang out with others in the pond since her feather condition started I thought all her eggs were empty. However before i threw them out I found this one egg with a nice and lively embryo! So I put it in the incubator with other goose eggs just to see how it turns out.

This egg is TINY! Only 2/3 size of my normal sized goose eggs. By about day 25 the moisture loss is less than optimal -- but again I have no reference, only judging the size of the air sac. I didn't have high hopes in it, and was just going to let it run its course.

Today is day 32. The air sac drawn down 2.5 days ago but no internal pip whatsoever. But during the two days there were a lot of membrane tapping without anything happening! This morning there was no sound, no peep , no chirp, and hasn't been any movement for a whole day. I wonder if it's stuck? Too weak?? Just snoozing and being late?? (Btw It has been under a wet goose for two weeks, on a two-hour plane ride, as well as half a day in the trash pile.)