Goose with bum leg better, supplements given

Discussion in 'Geese' started by spud1035, Sep 20, 2012.

1. spud1035

spud1035 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 25, 2009
    nw ohio
    I am new to geese, have a 5-7year history with chickens and ducks. I sneaked in a couple of day old pilgrams on my wife this spring and she hasn't divorced yet. I have really enjoyed them but my male limped a bit about a month ago and seemed to get better and a couple of weeks ago got much worse. I didn't know if I was going to have to put him down cause he wasn't getting around well and would get himself into situations he couldn't get himself out of. I did some research and found out that ducks and geese need niacin and selenium. I found out that brewers yeast contains both so I started to sprinkle a teaspoon on their feed daily and in about a weeks time his limping stopped. I'm not sure that is what got him better but that was the only thing I did different. My game feed has niacin and they free range all day so I wasn't sure why just one bird was having problems. I will post pics of my pride in joys soon to share with you. Just thought I'd share this everyone here on BYC.

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Thanks for sharing, it seems some need it more than others, great that you got on it quick and he is doing good. and yes Pics please love the pilgrims.

3. Tivona

Tivona Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Oregon