Got 2 Birds...Advice? (Lots of pics plus gross butt pic)

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by itsy, Jun 12, 2011.

1. itsy

itsy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    New England
    Hey! Ok, I got two birds. What a great experience. This farmer also keeps sheep, llama, goat, alpaca, cows, goose...everything.

He had two three year old hens set aside for me: A barred rock and a rhode island red. 3 years old - I know, I should've asked for younger. ::shrug:: I'm just too excited. I even bought a dozen eggs from him. I'm keeping these chickens away from my flock.

Anyway. The RIR has a really gross butt. It's missing feathers and it looks like her poo's been getting stuck. I'm including a photo. Her eyes are also a little watery. The BR looks fine. Both have broken/missing feathers on their backs, but I'm assuming that's from a rooster? The RIR hen also has large spurs. I had no idea females got spurs this large. As you may know, I'm pretty new to the chicken deal. Maybe three year old hens get bald butt like this? lol. Please look and let me know if she's ok to eat, or if she's sick??

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Edited to update: This is now the following day.......................
    If anyone comes upon this post later on.... I did it. I killed and processed the RIR. You can read about it here . I feel bad looking at her photos actually. First time processing has been tough for me. I hope the next time is easier.

Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  2. chickiedoo

chickiedoo Out Of The Brooder

Sep 28, 2010
    From what I've read before on BYC it looks like she has I think Mites. I'm not sure how you get rid of them since *knock on wood* I havent had them myself. But you should be able to do a search and find some info on them. Ive heard if you look really close at the tips of the feathers where they meet her skin it should look like litte eggs.

3. itsy

Mar 14, 2011
    New England
    Oh great! [​IMG]

Can she be eaten with them?

4. Amyh