Got a candling question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mommiex2xx, Jul 5, 2010.

1. mommiex2xx

mommiex2xx Out Of The Brooder

Jun 24, 2010
    I set my eggs on June 23. Today would be the 12th day. When I candled them what i thought to be the air cell had veins in it. I couldnt see in 90% of my eggs a air cell but could see a few movements in some of the eggs and in others its so dark I couldnt see much. My question is are there supposed to be veins in the air cell or could the air cell be small and I dont see it. Im new to this so I dont know.

2. emvickrey

emvickrey ChowDown Silkie Farm

Mar 5, 2009
    Hornbeak, Tennessee
    I've not noticed veins in the air cells of my eggs. Also, i've tossed out eggs that because I couldn't tell what was going on inside of them, then when I opened them to see what went wrong there where live empryos in them. Now If I'm not sure I let them stay till either I can tell or they're late to hatch. I'd rather leave them there than throw away a chick.

3. mommiex2xx

Jun 24, 2010
    Ok I just candled again and I saw air cells in the big end of the eggs. So I think im ok.

4. emvickrey

emvickrey ChowDown Silkie Farm

Mar 5, 2009
    Hornbeak, Tennessee
    Good luck. I've emptied my incubator and the last was 2 quail eggs. I've never had much luck with quail as far as hatching goes. I have 2 chicks but they are lazy. I'm hoping to either buy or trade for some chicks instead of trying to hatch them out myself.

5. Kedreeva

Kedreeva Longfeather Lane

Jun 10, 2010
    Michigan
    EMVickrev has not had an egg explode yet, I think XD