Got a Ring Neck dove - advice?

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by Ashmeade, May 28, 2010.

1. Ashmeade

Ashmeade Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 5, 2009
    I got a male ring neck dove from a lady today. I plan to keep him inside and will likely get an outside cage/coop for him as well.

I am doing research on care requirements but was wondering if anyone could offer general care advice and "do's and don'ts" as I am new to doves...

2. CoopCrazy

CoopCrazy Brooder Boss

Mar 3, 2009
    Columbus,IN
    Hoping someone can help

3. Mary Of Exeter

Mary Of Exeter Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Rowan County, NC
    Some things to keep in mind is that they do need grit. I try to feed mine wild bird feed simply because they can swallow the small seeds more easily, although when we run out, they do settle for my pigeon feed (which I've seen them swallow seeds as big as popcorn kernels and peas).
    One big don't is do NOT let him go! Ringnecks aren't like pigeons - you let them out, they won't know to go back in. It's not as hard to catch them on the loose if they are tame and have loft mates to draw them back in with. But you still don't want to risk it.

4. Ashmeade

Ashmeade Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 5, 2009
    Thanks for the advice! He seems to be doing great so far. I am keeping him indoors so not worried too much about him flying away__he is REALLY tame and fies to hand anyway (though I definitely would not put that to the test outdoors, as he would not last a mininute out there on his own). If I decide to do the outside coop thing I might just clip his wing but so far I think I will just keep him indoors as that is what he is accustomed to and he has never been housed with another bird.