Got a sick pullet - new to chickens, pls help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by LakeFairy, Nov 7, 2014.

1. LakeFairy

LakeFairy New Egg

Sep 14, 2012
    I'm new to chickens (although did lots of research before getting them), got 3 beautiful birds from my friend, immediately got hooked, and decided I want 3 more different breeds. Went to a chicken auction, but was afraid to bring disease home to my excising lovely little flock, and so decided to bite the shipping bullet, and ordered 3 pullets from a reputable hatchery, thinking at least I will get healthy birds.

Got the birds home - one is sneezing. Well, I thought, maybe a drafty flight... third day - still sneezing, and not eating as well. She also had black stuff around her nostrils, which I though was dirt stuck due to her having discharge from her nose, and some black area on her comb, which I thought was from an injury.

As I now got concerned about her not getting better, but actually worse, call the hatchery, and they recommend I use VetRx. Drive 40 miles to get the stuff, catch the chicken, apply it, and realize that the black stuff on her nose is kind of imbedded in the beak tissue. Now I'm thinking - fungal infection?? Anyone have seen it before? Hatchery is closed for the weekend, I would really appreciate advise on this! Frustrated and worried about this girl, and the rest of them : (

[​IMG]

2. juspeckinaround

juspeckinaround Out Of The Brooder

Aug 12, 2014
    Byhalia
    I am treating two hens right now that look the same and I have a respiratory infection in my flock. I was told to give them Tylan 200 (.05 cc) 3 days on 3 days off. I am cleaning their noses with warm wet paper towels.
    I am new so I am in no way saying I am right. Just thought I'd tell you that I'm seeing the exact same thing. Hope I have helped.

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio