1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Got a surprise today!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chicken pickin, Nov 27, 2012.

1. chicken pickin

chicken pickin Overrun With Chickens

Mar 3, 2012
    SOOO I got a wonderful surprise today! I walked by my kitchen window and sitting on my front deck was and incubator. A Genesis Hova-Bator 1588 [​IMG]. I text my Husband and asked him if a magic chicken fairy dropped it at our doorstep lol. He was trying to be sneaky and he ordered it for me for a christmas present. But it came early and in its original box that says INCUBATOR very boldly lol so I got an early gift YAY!

Now if I can ask a few questions
    1. Is this incubator a good reliable one
    2. Im new to chickens and have never hatched before Is it difficult to do
    3. How do you bring your self to not keep all the chicks lol[​IMG]

Im nervous to start using it but very excited. Any tips, pointers, or advice is welcome or even any links or other threads that someone can steer me toward would be appreciated.

1 person likes this.
  2. Annie G

Annie G Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2012
    Linden, TN
    I have no experience with that incubator but my suggestion for any of them (LOL) is read the instructions thoroughly no matter what anyone tells you! : )

3. chicken pickin

Mar 3, 2012
    Thanks I will definitely be reading the instuction booklet before using it and also lots of threads in this incubating forum. Im just very nervous to start when its time. I know its a learning process and maybe even a little trial and error but I dont want to have a bad 1st hatch. I was also wondering(im not sure i read this somewhere) but can a slightly wrong temp or humidity percentage cause deformities in the chicks?

Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  4. sumi