Got eggs 1130 a.m. should i put them in bator tonight or the morning?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Smokin Silkies, Jan 22, 2010.

1. Smokin Silkies

Smokin Silkies formerly browneyebuttafly

Mar 27, 2009
    Western, PA
    I received them about 11:30 this morning. Some people say let them sit about 6 hours, some say 8-10 and others say overnight????? I'm still kinda new to all of this so I don't know what to do. My only concern is that I won't be able to watch the temp or humidity while Im sleeping....and with 3 kids (2 under the age of 2), I don't feel like waking up in the middle of the night unless I HAVE to! So do you think it will be safe to let them sit til morning? It would be almost 24 hours??? Thanks

2. Madcap621

Madcap621 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2009
    Middle Tennessee
    In the morning is good. I just set eggs after the recommended 24 hour rest. You might even consider an additional 24 - 48 hours 'rest' before you start turning to let egg air cells and internals stabilize. Get your rest! You are gonna NEED it in 21 days!! [​IMG]

3. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    WHY WAIT ????

4. Smokin Silkies

Mar 27, 2009
    Western, PA
    I think its more because I'm nervous that once I put them in the bator tonight, I won't be up long enough to see if the temp and humidity is still ok. My bator has been set up for days now and the temp and humidity have been fine. I'm just not sure if that will change once I put the eggs in. Somebody told me before that the temp will change a little after putting the eggs in and I would need to adjust it??? I could be wrong, I think I'm just nervous! [​IMG]

5. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida