Got First Eggs, now no eggs. Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by slfiggins, Aug 13, 2010.

1. slfiggins

slfiggins Out Of The Brooder

May 21, 2010
    I have 9 hens. 3 Buffs, 3 Brahmas and 3 Plymouth Rocks. They are about 20 weeks old. I got my first egg on August 5. Then I got another egg, just one on Aug. 6 and another on August 7. I haven't had any eggs since then. It has been 5 days should I be worried? I have no idea which bird/birds laid the first 3 eggs. The temperatures here have been in the 90's could this affect their laying? This is my first year with chickens. Thanks for your help!

Sara
    http://learningthefrugallife.blogspot.com/

2. justbugged

justbugged Head of the Night Crew for WA State

Jan 27, 2009
    Enumclaw
    A few days between the first egg and laying daily is normal. The heat can slow down egg production also.

3. Tropical Chook

Tropical Chook Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2010
    Those first eggs were just "teasers" to show you what their rent is like if you treat them right [​IMG] Jokes aside, I experienced the same thing with my birds, and from what I've ready on here, those first eggs are sometimes referred to as being practice eggs. Of course if they keep holding back on their rent, you can always show them how boring life would be without treats [​IMG]

Don't worry about it, they'll start making your breakfast soon enough, and yes, it is worth the wait.

4. tuesdays chicks

tuesdays chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    stuart florida
    I cut out the corn in my birds diet and my laying hen started laying 6 eggs a week instead of 5 and I'm in florida the temps have been hot, so I think the breed depends on whether they lay in the heat.

5. Buttercup Chillin

Buttercup Chillin Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2008
    SouthEast TX