got my DE.... is this right??

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by khable, Jun 21, 2007.

1. khable

khable Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2007
    LaGrangeville, NY
    Hi all,

I just received my Perma Gaurd Food Grade DE....

I was surprised to see that it looks just like flour!

Is that right?? [​IMG]

I was kinda imagining that it would look like mini shells or something more gritty than flour.

ummm.... [​IMG]

Also, I wanted to add it to the girls feed, I think I read that I should add 1 lb to 50 lbs of food. does that sound right?

I am also wanting to spread it around their run for pest protection and odor protection. Is there a good way to do this... a specific amount... or just sprinkle around???

Thanks for any help with this!

[​IMG]

2. Heidi

Heidi Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2007
    Northwest Michigan
    I've been using it for about 3 months now. I sprinkle it in their sand bathing places, in their coop, and their nesting boxes about once a week. I also sprinkle it on their food and mix it up so the food is coated everyday. Yes, it does look like flour. So far my chickens are heathy as can be - haven't lost a one.

3. khable

Mar 16, 2007
    LaGrangeville, NY
    Thank you Heidi,

It looks like it will cake up if I put it on the ground and it gets wet...

Is that the case?? [​IMG]

4. schmoo

schmoo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2007
    West MI.
    Heidi - I live in MI. too, did you get yours locally or did you have to order it online?

5. Heidi

Heidi Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2007
    Northwest Michigan
    Khable - yes, I guess it would cake up, but we haven't had much rain here. By the time it does rain the chickens have used it up in there dust bathing areas.