Got Sour Crop?? EVERYBODY Needs To Read This!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by TwoCrows, Oct 19, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I have a long story to tell all of you in hopes that if any of your birds turn up with a sour crop and have gone down this long road as I have, you have a happy ending as I have had here.

I am new to chickens this year and last March brought home 4 bouncing day old Australorp girls from my local small feed store. Now being in a rural town, my only feed options were Hy-Pro non-medicated feed or Purina medicated. I had used Hy-Pro products before and had good luck with them, and not wanting to medicate the chicks feed, I went with the Hy-Pro non medicated chick starter feed. They grew up in the normal fashion and at 5 3/4 months old, when they started showing signs of near to laying, I went to the feed store to get layer feed.

Ok...so I of course wanted to stick with the same brand of feed, the Hy-pro so that it was not a new tasting feed. However I was warned that many times the Hy-Pro layer feed is not cut right and the crumbles can turn into dust. And Hy-Pro does not offer us pellets. Anyway, I bought 3 bags of the Hy-Pro and came home with them. Well as I was told, upon opening these bags, all but one of them was nearly powder. I tired to get the chickens to eat the finely ground stuff, but they had no interest. And I could not go thru the purchasing of bags of powder for the rest of these chickens days and have them not eat it, so I decided to give the Purina Layena a try.

I purchased 2 bags of the Purina Layena and decided I would mix the Hy-Pro and the Layena together to make the taste similar and that they would eat the layer feed. (At first they turned up their beaks at layer feed and I had to wet it down for a week to get them to eat it).