got the broody hen, fertail eggs are coming, know what?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dnenella, Jul 20, 2010.

1. dnenella

dnenella In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    so my orpington has been trying to have chicks for a couple of weeks know, dad does not want her to have chicks but shes a-gonna so i have her in the teenagers cage know and hopefully i get the eggs tonight or tommorow but this is my first time hatching so will take any info i can get. So please Help!

Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  2. Cloverleaf Farm

Cloverleaf Farm Bearded Birds are Best

Sep 16, 2008
    Levan, UT
    Put the eggs under her and wait 21 days! She'll do the rest. Make sure she has food and water within reach, because if she is a hard-core broody, she may not leave her nest at all (my silkie does this). Also, I'd put some poultry dust on her before you set the eggs, and check her regularly for external parasites, mites and lice LOVE a broody hen. Good luck!

Also, are the eggs coming in the mail? If they are, you'll want to let them sit pointy end down for 12-24 hours before you put them under her.

3. dnenella

dnenella In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    ok thank and no i found some on craigslist by my house YEAH for me so much cheaper:D $12 for 2 doz

4. dnenella

dnenella In the Brooder

May 10, 2010
    Ok so know its friday till i get the eggs but thats ok more time for me to dig up info lol

5. Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up Count your many blessings...

Mar 12, 2008
    Loxahatchee, Florida
    Any time I have to do something with my broody hens I try to do it after dark, it keeps them calmer that way. If she's already been setting for a few weeks do be sure to check her for mites, and refresh the straw in her nest box. Some poultry dust could be helpful too. Make sure her food/water is far enough from her nest that she has to stand up and take a few steps to get to it, otherwise she could get into the habit of staying in the nest & pooping there.