1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Got this chicken at a poultry auction and have no idea what it is.

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by mcelrathn, Feb 14, 2017.

1. mcelrathn

mcelrathn Hatching

Nov 6, 2016
    Hello! I'm new to chickens. My wife and I recently went to a poultry auction after the 3 laying hens we had were eaten by something. While at the auction I struck up a conversation with a lady that seemed to know what was going on. I told her that we were new to chickens and looking for a good egg producer. She told me that she had 2 chickens that she had brought to auction off that would be good for us. We lost the auction on the first hen. Her next chicken was sold as a game rooster. She swore that it was a hen and I bought it hoping she wasn't tricking me, she was extremely nice and knowledgeable. So I bought a chicken that I'm not sure is a rooster or hen.
    To even more complicate the situation they didn't track the chicken after I bought it so I'm not even sure that I got the chicken that I bought! Hah.
    Either way it is a really pretty bird so I'm not too concerned, but I am curious. Can anyone tell me what breed it might be and if it's a hen or a rooster? I have looked through all 18 pages in the "breeds" section and can't find anything that looks similar. I can post more pics if needed. Thanks in advance![​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 14, 2017

2. Hello and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Im not exactly sure on the breed i was thinking something like an [COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.870588)]Ameraucana [/COLOR]or EE? And it is a certainly a rooster. To keep him happy you need a couple more hens...

Best luck [​IMG]

-Mustang

3. Cel45

Cel45 Songster

Oct 28, 2015
    Houston, Tx