grapenut cereal for chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickfamilyonsleepyhollow, May 22, 2010.

1. good morning everyone ... my chicks are almost 6 weeks old and wondering if I can give them grapenut cereal? they've only been eating starter food and I guess its time to give them something new [​IMG] ... thanks!!!

2. noodleroo

noodleroo Snuggles with Chickens

Apr 29, 2010
    Rockport, Tx
    I don't know about processed cereal; its usually not very good for humans so I doubt it is good for chicks! There was a study done some years back where one group of lab rats were fed only a commercial breakfast cereal and the other group was fed only the shredded box that the cereal came in. The rats fed the box lived longer than the ones fed cereal! Just say no to processed foods when you can. Thats what I'm going to do for my chickens. I'm by no means an expert. I'll be interest to see what others say...

3. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
  4. MareeZoCool

MareeZoCool Songster

I suggest that you offer them some uncooked oatmeal, plain oats, NOT the instant type with sugar & flavorings.

5. thanks for the advice ... its our first time raising chicks ... the website for treats is very helpful [​IMG]

6. NurseNettie

NurseNettie Songster

Feb 13, 2008
    Northern Maine
    My first question for folks who want to give chickens human food is usually "why"?

Chick starter until they're older, grower if you choose after 6 weeks, then layer when they're laying is all they need, EXCEPT fresh forage, veggies, etc. If they dont' get out to forage, you should bring them greens, veggies, table scraps, etc, but they don't need "treats" ( treats make us feel good-- they just get hooked on junk food and forage less), etc.

Not trying to cause an argument-just wondering why you'd want to give chicks cereal-- especially where it's so dang expensive [​IMG]

Quote:

7. Cuddles with Chickens

Cuddles with Chickens In the Brooder

May 21, 2010