Grass Clippings

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by llombardo, Aug 2, 2018.

1. llombardo

llombardo Songster

Mar 11, 2018
    Illinois
    The chickens, ducks and rabbits love when I put grass clippings in with them. I have a lot of grass but the supply is not meeting the demand. I can get grass clippings(I work in the garbage industry) but I worry about not knowing where it comes from and if pesticides are used. Is this a valid fear? There are lots of people that use pesticides--I dont. I know it dries and is said to be safe after that, but safe for animals to eat?

Susan Dye likes this.
  2. BellePoule

BellePoule Songster

Apr 26, 2018
    Southern Middle Tennessee
    I wouldn't use grass clippings without knowing that they are pesticide free (that includes organic pesticides, they are often more dangerous than synthetic pesticides). When they dry, they are safe(ish) to touch, but not ingest.

Susan Dye and DobieLover like this.
  3. Brahma Chicken5000

Brahma Chicken5000 Araucana Addict Premium Member

Sep 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    I only use grass clippings from my property because we don’t treat our lawn with chemicals. It would be unwise to use potentially treated grass clippings.

4. llombardo

llombardo Songster

Mar 11, 2018
    Illinois
    That's what I thought. My next plan of action is to just ask people I know if they use pesticides and ask for their grass clipping. They are going to think I lost my mind...

5. BellePoule

BellePoule Songster

Apr 26, 2018
    Southern Middle Tennessee
    Most people think chicken people are crazy anyways...

6. chickens really

chickens really Crazy Call Duck Momma Premium Member

Grass clippings should not be fed. It can cause impacted Crops. :frow

7. llombardo

llombardo Songster

Mar 11, 2018
    Illinois
    The chickens and ducks scratch around and they do eat it, but not like the bunnies. The bunnies not only love it, but they require it.

Susan Dye likes this.