Grass clippins in my Hen House?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by NC-Chickoholic, Apr 17, 2009.

1. NC-Chickoholic

NC-Chickoholic Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2009
    I was just wondering if anyone does this...and what are the pros and cons of it that you have discovered.... Thx so much.....I am new in this chicken addiction and was wondring if it could save me a little money Thx Alot!

2. purecountrychicken

purecountrychicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2008
    Gray Court, SC
    My chickens love it when I throw grass in their run. They go crazy over it,, plus its good for them.

3. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia
    I wouldn't use them in my coop, because they tend to smell in a very short amount of time. I believe I've seen where people have used them though. The chickens also enjoy eating them.

4. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

I use grass clippings in the run with out problems. In the fall leaves. I've never bought anything for the run. In the coop I use shredded newspaper.

Imp

5. SarahFair

SarahFair Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2008
    Monroe, Ga
    I used dried grass clippings in the nesting boxes. Ill throw a couple hand fulls of fresh grass clippings in the coop for them to snack on. Its funny when the lawn mower sprays the side of the coop. They go nuts over it!

6. Renee

Renee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2008
    CALIFORNIA
    Some chickens will eat too much of the cut grass at once and get impacted crops.

If they are free-ranging, they can only tear off small pieces of grass, but if the cut grass is in long pieces they can swallow it whole and it can ball up.

Some chicken owners spread the cut grass around in the yard until it dries then throw it down instead of pine shavings.

7. chickflick

chickflick Overrun With Chickens

Mar 10, 2007
    Dimondale