Grass-fed Dairy Cow

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Farmerboy16, Dec 12, 2011.

1. Farmerboy16

Farmerboy16 Rebuilding my Farm

Dec 30, 2010
    Sparta, MI
    For years, I have been wanting a cow just for milk, and there is a possibility that in the spring that we can have a cow when my dad gives an ok. We just got 2 bull calves to raise as a steer, we will have one to be butchered, and sell the other one to pay for the cost of raising them, and feed. Right now the calves are in my coop, and we will build them a 12x12 shed with at least 3 to 5 acre pasture in the spring. My goal to have the cattle grass-fed as much as possible, and am wondering is it possible to have a dairy cow fed just grass in the growing season, hay in the winter, and no grain at all? We just want a few gallons of milk a day, and am thinking of finding a jersey cross type. I am still learning, and will appreciate any links and info regarding grass-fed dairy cows.
    Thanks. [​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  2. Nicola

Nicola Chook Cuddlin' Aussie

Feb 23, 2009
    ACT
    I think you will get more than a few gallons a day from one cow, especially a jersey or a jersey cross they produce alot of milk. They can give anything from 3-6 gallons a day. Not owning any form of milking cow before or having a relative that owns one ( only have one that breeds beef cows) i wouldn't know about their diet.

3. Farmerboy16

Dec 30, 2010
    Sparta, MI
    I know that a dairy cow will produce less milk if not fed grain, but is wondering if it is possible to have the cow eat just grass and hay, and produce a few gallons day.

4. turney31

turney31 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2008
    palestine texas
    Around here its one cow per 5 acres.

5. mississippifarmboy

mississippifarmboy collects slightly damaged strays