Great Feed For Your Chucks

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by MaxHamer, Feb 16, 2012.

1. MaxHamer

MaxHamer New Egg

Feb 16, 2012
    North Yorkshire, England
    I have been keeping chickens for 10 years now & now have found a great feed for your chickens all year round!
    I currently have 20 chickens & this is how I feed them.
    I spend £17 a month on feed.
    The feed is called Micronized Flaked Wheat made by mmf, but I don't just throw this at my chickens like anyone else would.
    I take three large scoops & throw that into a bucket. I then add water until it covers the wheat. Leave it over night.
    When the next day has come I put scraps from the day before (last nights meal left overs: veg, bread etc. ) into the bucket & give it a bit of a stir.
    Then chuck that into your chickens feed bowl or just on the floor & it'll go down a treat!
    This will really fill up your chickens for the day.
    I give them worms & often a few handfuls of layers pellets to make sure they have enough protein.
    This feeds twenty of my chickens a day & they never go hungry as you can see by their large crops.
    You can also add crushed up egg shells to make sure their calcium levels are at a high & their egg shells stay firm.

2. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    I love to hear about home made food. Maybe you should think about adding a vitamin supplement.

3. MaxHamer

MaxHamer New Egg

Feb 16, 2012
    North Yorkshire, England
    What I should have really mentioned is that they are free ranged birds & they do wonder round the garden eating grass & vegetable leaves.
    Maybe that isn't enough?
    Have you got any suggestions vitamin wise?

4. seminolewind

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida