Great to be a member!

RaintoRoots

Chirping
Mar 7, 2019
Encinitas, California
Hey there! It's great to finally be a member of the BYC community! I've been following threads on this site for quite some time and finally decided to make an account. Heres a little info on me and my backyard.

My name is Alyssa and I'm a 28 yo entrepreneur located in San Diego, CA. I grew up as an only child on a farm in the south and relocated to start a business and life for myself in California about 8 years ago. As the saying goes, you can take the girl out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the girl. I grow succulents for a living and am in the process of transforming my exotic garden into a sustainable backyard using permaculture practices. I adopted two black dogs (Whiskey and Rye), a pot-bellied pig (Kiwi), and recently decided to take up backyard chickens as a new hobby since I enjoyed it so much as a child. I enjoy composting and learning new ways to be eco-friendly. The neighborhood kids all know me and frequently come over to see my animals, calling my house the "Cardiff Farm."