green horn

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by snoozee-q, Jan 12, 2014.

1. snoozee-q

snoozee-q Out Of The Brooder

Jan 12, 2014
    Spout Spring, VA
    I have a dog kennel that is going to be converted for my chickens. I am new to this and excited that having chickens is about to be my dream come true. Any information is greatly appreciated

1 person likes this.
  2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan [​IMG]

My advice would be to spend some time in the coops section, and get yourself set up for protection from predators and the elements in your area before you start. There are many people here who neglected these vital issues, and have sorely regretted it.

3. snoozee-q

Jan 12, 2014
    Spout Spring, VA
    Thank you. I have been talking with my niece who lives in Michigan as well, and have spent several months researching. I dont want to regret overlooking something.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
  5. JDchicks

JDchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2012
    Southeast Alabama
    Welcome!

Just curious, does your dog pen have a enclosed roof? If not, may want to get some chicken wire for it. I use a dog pen for when I move my chicks from inside, to get them use to the outside. Hawks and vultures are popular around me.

Have you decided on what breed you are wanting? Couple questions I always ask to help get friends started...

1. What are your plans for the chickens (showing, pets, food...)
    2. How much room do you have for them (whether to get bantams or LF-large fowl)
    3. What type of coop do you have (some chickens do not do well in foul weather and some are more hardy)
    4. What type of area do you live in? (lots of neighbors or lots of acres)
    5. How many eggs are you wanting per year (just a few to incubate or a bunch to sell to neighbors)