Green legged chicken

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by mandomama, Apr 30, 2008.

1. mandomama

mandomama Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2008
    corvallis oregon
    Are the Aurcana the only green legged chicken? I have a mix breed and her legs are really green. What other breeds would have green legs? Do I have a shot at blue eggs? [​IMG]

2. KLH2010

KLH2010 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2008
    I think the Ameraucana/Easter Eggers do as well but don't quote me on that...I'm still new to all this!

3. mandomama

Mar 18, 2008
    corvallis oregon
    Here she is. Her legs are getting greener and greener. They are a lot greener than they show in this picture. Not the slate, dark color, kinda like a grass green or a blue green.

[​IMG]

4. fancyfowl4ever

fancyfowl4ever Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2008
    Cranbrook, BC, Canada
    Neither Araucana nor Ameraucana should have green legs. EEs usually do. Another breed is the Green legged partridge fowl(I don't think one can get them in the US tho).

5. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    Modern Games and Old English Game in some color varietys have willow green legs,,,,very pretty

6. Kev

Kev Overrun With Chickens

Jan 13, 2008
    Sun City, California
    Green legs is simply the visual effect of yellow skin being mixed with another set of leg pigment to create the "green". The same leg pigment on a white skinned chicken creates blue legged chicken.

So.. mixing certain breeds almost inevitably results in green legged birds. An Araucana or Ameraucana (slate/ blue legs so they have the "leg pigment" plus white skin) mixed with RIR or BR or anything with yellow skin will inevitably result in green legged chicks either in the cross or somewhere down the line.