green poop (posting photos)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ggroves, Nov 22, 2019.

1. ggroves

ggroves Hatching

Nov 21, 2019
    Central Texas
    Hi, I'm a new member but have been following advice on this website for several years. I have been keeping chickens for about 3 to 4 years, currently have 4 backyard chickens My current chicken issue: my red sexlink currently has the strangest looking green poop that appears to have seeds in it. I don't think it's tapeworm but open to all suggestions. She is currently acting normally except that she is not laying but she had a recent molt. She used to be my best layer (she's the youngest). This type of poop has occurred with her before, recently-perhaps 6 weeks ago, and there was a short time when she was NOT acting normally, keeping away from the rest of the flock but this lasted for just a few days. Shortly before that she layed two strange eggs (for her) with ombre coloration, misshapen, not smooth. Around that time, I believe she had an egg break inside her, due to finding yolk on poop pad but no shell, so gave her soaks and removed some shell from her vent. No eggs since then and she is acting normal but the weird poop restarted yesterday. My vet doesn't "do" chickens. I have used an online chicken vet a while back for a different problem but not overly impressed. Any ideas what this green poop could mean and do you suggest any treatment. (All of the girls had a fairly recent deworming treatment-2 doses 10 days apart- with febendazole, more or less "just in case") IMG_1767.JPG IMG_1765.JPG IMG_1765.JPG IMG_1766.JPG

2. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Enabler

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    What do you feed her including treats?
    Do you mix oyster shell in the feed or provide it free choice?
    You mention seeds - do you give scratch or a seed mix?

3. ggroves

ggroves Hatching

Nov 21, 2019
    Central Texas