Green poop

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by PertyGertie, Feb 4, 2016.

1. PertyGertie

PertyGertie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2014
    Southwest Michigan
    I noticed my Cochin Pullet acting sleepy last Friday. I thought maybe she was just drowsy and taking a nap. When I checked back in on the girls on Saturday she was back up on the roost in the middle of the day with nasty watery green poops under her on the poop boards. I brought her inside and took a poop sample to the vet. He said there was cocci in the poop. He isn't a chicken vet but said I needed to treat for coccidiosis. I have been battling coccidiosis for a couple of months. I seem to get it under control and it comes back. I was keeping the girls on low dose Corid for two weeks after their outbreak treatment in hopes to finally nix the problem. I read somewhere that @casportpony uses Sulmet when Corid isn't effective.

Here was a couple of her poops on Sunday:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

She has been in the house since Saturday and is on her last day of Sulmet today. Her poops are solid now but are still green. I plan on taking a sample back to the vet tomorrow but in a serious case of cocci do they still poop green after this much treatment?

She is walking around and acting quite normal. She calls to me (she's in the basement with a heat lamp and a smorgasbord of food) when she hears my voice. She has gained 6 ounces in the past 4 days.

Here is some poops I cleaned up tonight:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Her poops are most definitely more normal shaped but still green. She has occasional cecal poops that are very dark brown and extremely smelly.

She is acting normal and loving all the food and attention. Does anyone have an idea what could be going on?

2. Chicken Egg 17

Chicken Egg 17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2015
    McVeytown PA
    How much corid have you been using

3. PertyGertie

Jul 10, 2014
    Southwest Michigan