Greetings from a much warmer Alaska!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Alaska Juju, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Alaska Juju

Alaska Juju New Egg

Jan 12, 2009
    Hello to all! I am new to the forum, but have been a reader of the site for a while, particularly admiring the beautiful coops that so many of you construct! I live in the interior of Alaska (where my temp this morn is only -10, after nearly two weeks of -45!), and I am especially interested in learning from other members living in Alaska and other cold, northern climes.

I've been raising chickens for over four years now with my fiance, who has raised chickens for ten years, but I always feel there is more to learn. We have 15 ladies now: 14 Buff Orpys from 2 to 4 years old, and 1 Barred Rock who we call Grandma as she has survived more than 8 (we've lost count!) Alaska winters and is still going strong.

I look forward to talking chicken with many of you!

2. snowydiamonds

snowydiamonds Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome and glad its warmed up for a spell. We're hitting a high today of 10 above:) I'm in NW on the (windy) coast.

3. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008
    [​IMG] Another Alaskan!!

[​IMG]

I am SO grateful for the break in the cold weather, as I'm sure you are!

4. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    [​IMG] from TN.

5. big greg barker

big greg barker Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2008
    central maine
    You have a chicken that has seen 8 Alaskan winters, and you want advice from us??!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

6. Alaska Juju

Alaska Juju New Egg

Jan 12, 2009
    So nice to see other Alaskans on here! I hope everyone, and their birds, are enjoying these wonderfully warmer temps! We sure needed a break from it...