Greetings from Bucks County, PA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BobinDoylestown, Dec 15, 2016.

1. BobinDoylestown

BobinDoylestown New Egg

Dec 15, 2016
    Hi chicken lovers, my name is Bob, and I live on a mini (micro) farm just outside the Borough of Doylestown, PA. I have been chickening for about the last 10 years, with ebb and flow in my flock--ebb largely due to foxes and the occasional door not securely latched--and flow arising entirely courtesy of springtime offerings from the local feed mill and pet store.

As of today, I have 18 hens and 8 roosters(yeah, I know--too many roosters--it's a long story based on totally unwarranted assumptions. Needless to say I won't be buying "straight run" chicks any more.). Most of my hens are Black Star and Aurocana (everybody loves blue eggs, even if they do taste the same), but I've still got a few surviving bantam hens of varying breeds. My roosters are now housed ina separate " boys' dormitory" and have a separate run from the girls. Since I segregated them, there's been virtually no fighting and we've experienced a lot less wear and tear on the girls. They were getting ridden pretty hard before.

I get about a dozen eggs a day in the spring and summer, but am down to onlyn~6/day since Dec. 1. Most ofnthesengo to the local food pantry, but we're consuming 3-4/ day ourselves.

I think that's more than enough for an intro. I'll be posting shortly looking for help in an unexplained death I experienced this morning.

Bob

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Hi, Bob, welcome to BYC from the other side of the river. Nice weather we are having, eh ?

3. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

Hi Bob, nice to have you join us! Sorry to hear about the loss, hope you get some answers.

4. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under BobinDoylestown [​IMG] Welcome!