1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Greetings from Ireland

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LoTwan, Oct 9, 2011.

1. LoTwan

LoTwan New Egg

Oct 9, 2011
    I have been keeping chickens for about 18 months now. I started out with 14 Bovan Goldlines (RIR/Light Sussex cross) in a residential back garden. They were delightful layers. All the way through last Winter which 6" of snow on the ground I was getting 10 -12 eggs a day.

Skip forward to April of this year and I moved them to our new 5 acre small holding. They were free to roam over the whole 5 acres and while they initially laid in the coop they eventually started laying hither, tither and yon which is cute as all that but not good when you consider I was getting maybe 4 eggs a day from 12 birds. I decided to pen them in which was a straight forward enough process and they accepted it reasonably well (after I had clipped their wings) but didn't get back to laying well at all.

5 weeks ago I bought some new girls to get me up to 16 (the limit of my coop). The next morning something (fox/mink/pine martin) got into the coop and left me with 6 of my original girls and 1 of the new Isa Browns. The following morning the Isa Brown went missing. A few days later one of the original BG's escaped and was caught.