Greetings from Portugal!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AriadneCastro, Jun 25, 2016.

1. AriadneCastro

AriadneCastro Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2016
    Sintra, Portugal
    Dear folks,

My name is Ariadne, I'm a visual artist, enthusiastic gardener and the worried caretaker of 14 birds, recently acquired. The group began with 17 but three have died by now. This is my first flock. I have done my homework the best I could before they arrived, but despite all I'm having trouble... That is how I found BackYard.Chickens, by searching for more information.

The flock consists of:

- 1 Mixed breed Rooster (c. 4 months old, started crowing a week ago). Beautifully colored plumage, son of a Silkie mom and a big, mixed breed dad.
    - 2 Mixed breed girls (c. 12 weeks old). They came from the same flock as the rooster and are also bred from Silkies. All 3 have five toes and bluish ears but appear otherwise "normal".
    - 1 White Silkie girl (c. 10-12 weeks old)
    - 2 Red Star girls (c. 8 weeks old)
    - 2 Black Star girls (c. 8 weeks old)
    - 2 Cross of Red Star and Black Star (c. 8 weeks old). I bought them as girls but they have terribly curved tails... I'm suspecting otherwise!
    - 1 Red and white boy (c. 8 weeks old). Don't know what breed, supposedly he's a meat bird but also a very loving and funny individual. I'm keeping him as a pet.
    - 1 Barred Rock cross girl (c. 8 weeks old)
    - 2 Barred Rock cross boys (c. 8 weeks old), who are currently looking very sick...