Greetings from Sackville, New Brunswick.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hankyknot, Jan 6, 2017.

1. hankyknot

hankyknot New Egg

Jan 6, 2017
    Hi everyone,

I've just moved to a rural farmhouse outside of Sackville, New Brunswick and I'm looking into getting a few chickens primarily for their eggs.

I have zero experience so bare with me if my ideas sound a little crazy and don't be shy in telling me so.

I understand that in order to have eggs year round you need somewhere warm for the chickens in the winter. What I was wondering though is if there is any reason not to get hens in the spring and then get them processed for meat at the beginning of winter, at least for the first year or two while I get the hang of things. I would imagine it only makes sense if you get hens that are both good for meat and for eggs but will freely admit these are just thoughts written down based on zero knowledge.

I'm planning on building some kind of chicken tractor and moving it around the field on a regular basis but if things go well then building a more permanent hen house is definitely do-able.

So am I crazy or does this make sense, also are there any folk in my area that wouldn't mind sharing their experiences and advice it would be great to hear from you.

2. RodNTN

RodNTN Following Jesus

May 22, 2013
    The USA
    My Coop
    1 person likes this.
  3. Flock Master64

Flock Master64 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2016
    Surrounded by the Amish
    Hello, welcome to Backyard Chickens.

The Links RodNTN provided for you should be useful.

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings, hankyknot, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined us! Yes, great links provided by RodNTN. Best wishes and thanks for joining our community!

5. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]