Greetings from sweltering Valley Station, KY (suburb of Louisville)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by bobzilla58, Aug 13, 2010.

1. bobzilla58

bobzilla58 New Egg

Aug 4, 2010
    Hello everyone:

I am new to BYC as this is my second post. My wife and I have had 4 Golden Comet hens since May 25 of this year: Ruby, Lucy, Gertie and Peaches. We love them to pieces and we especially like the beautiful, fresh brown eggs they lay every morning.

I found out about the BYC forum through my favorite search engine, as so many of the things I looked up about chickens returned hits linking to BYC.com

I have wanted to have chickens for a couple of years now, but was just able to get my wife to warm to the idea early this year. As regards my history with chickens, I don't know why we did this when I was growing up, but we always had 1 rooster in my backyard (different ones at different times). We had two very colorful bantams, the kind with spurs and large plumes of tailfeathers. Both of them lived to become very old, long in the tooth and crusty as old sailors. We also had a huge RIR that came up to about my waist when I was a kid, but he didn't last long before going into foster care because he was mean as a rattlesnake. He would run up to you and bite a plug out of your shin Perhaps we kept them for the charm of hearing them crow every morning, but whichever rooster we had at the time would perch on a length of clothesline under the back porch and crow through the screen window about 5:30 every morning during the summer. No one minded this as we were early risers.

My hobbies include woodworking, reading, writing occasionally and gardening. My wife and I have two grown daughters, both of whom "flew the coop" earlier this year. We are expecting a grandchild sometime around Christmas.