Greetings!! I have a young Maran question

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by herechikiechik, Jun 22, 2016.

1. herechikiechik

herechikiechik Out Of The Brooder

May 5, 2016
    I have 4 - two week-old Maran that I hatched myself using an incubator. I am very jazzed, as these were my first fertilized eggs acquired from a local small farm, first incubator -- coupled with the fact that I am very new with backyard chickens in the first place. NOTHING ELSE went on in my household while these eggs were hatching!! Amazing....

Just yesterday, I was removing the chicks from their brooding pen to clean it, and the first-hatched (remains the largest, one day older than the rest) pecked at me!! Not complaining in the least. I could barely feel it. It did this repeatedly, decidedly having a "go" at me. I have witnessed the chicken sexing technique of blowing on the backside, and when I tried my hand at this with these new baby chicks (curiosity -- I know it's not 100%, least of all when it's being done by me), this particular largest one is the only one of the four that does that "rooster thing" -- textbook, as I perceive it. BTW, the orifice of the other 3 chicks is keeping secrets. Theirs does pretty much nothing. Potential hens?? Comments very welcome on this.

I believe as of today, I will start to refer to the largest chick I mentioned initially as a "he", based on current behavior. HE is being very aggressive toward the others!! I am hearing the others cry out, so much so that I am almost tempted to separate him from the others, which seem so sweet and affectionate toward one another.