Greetings, Newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Toprel, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Toprel

Toprel In the Brooder

Aug 5, 2017
    Greeting all,
    I'm Toprel, aka Craig.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    Yes very much so. We received our first batch of chicks about seven weeks ago. My wife has raised chickens before, but I'm very new to this.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    My wife doesn't do anything small. We are now up to ~150 chicks. We have six brooders running, and three hoop coops with the 7-week old chicks in them.

(3) What breeds do you have?
    To have our family buy-in on the Chicken expedition, each in the family has chosen a breed we want to raise.
    My wife wanted Delawares and New Hampshires to have the sex-linked chicks. They were the first group of 30 we bought.
    I just picked up my first three Ayam Cemani mix chicks. I am starting with a local mix to see how well I like the breed. Two of the chicks are 3/4 Cemani and 1/4 Wyandotte. The third is 1/2 Cemani and 1/2 olive-egger. They are about three days old so far. One of the 3/4 chicks is all black except for inside the mouth, and the tips of the toenails.
    My Son L has an assortment of bantam Cochin; as he couldn't decide on the coloration he wanted. His has just arrived, this last Friday, and he's very excited to see how they turn out.
    My Son R has chosen the silver-laced Sebright. They arrived at the same time as L's.
    Beyond that, we have a random assortment of fryers and Roasters bought from CackleHatchery.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    while searching for information on the Cemani, I saw a link to a forum here at BackYardChickens.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    I am setting up my office to become a recording studio. My end goal is to be a voice-over artist and audio-book narrator/publisher, as I've been told that I have a face for radio and a voice to match.