1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Greetings

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Heartful, Feb 15, 2015.

1. Heartful

Heartful Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2015
    I've succumbed to the chicken obsession and decided it's time to start educating myself with flock management and care. I currently have Orpingtons (BBS) of both American and English type...(gasp) and am hoping to keep my flock productive and healthy for years to come!

I've noticed that most people want one or the other, and I happen to think they both bring good things to the table...so, I have both and do plan to breed for myself. Since I am new to the inticracies of breeding and type, I am sure this may change over time as I decide which I like best.

[​IMG]

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! I don't have any now but I did have a black orpington but unfortunately he turned out to be a roo. He was given to us a pullet but turned out he wasn't. Thankfully I managed to rehome with some friends just down the road from me and he has made a fantastic bird that they love. He is very good with his ladies and very gentle for a big bird.

Wishing you the very best of luck with the breeding I hope it works out well for you. Be sure to ask any questions you may have, everyone here to help and very friendly.

Enjoy BYC :frow

3. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] I'm glad you joined our "flock!"

Beautiful rooster! I've always loved the way English Orpingtons look. [​IMG]

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG] I'm glad you joined us.