Grit and chick feed

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by AbisChicks16, Sep 18, 2016.

1. AbisChicks16

AbisChicks16 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2016
    South Florida
    My chics will be a week old tomorrow. I've been feeding them the medicated food I bought from online. (The same site I bought my chicks from) The local feed store only sells non-meditated grow and start. Is it necessary to feed them medicated feed. Sorry I'm new to this.
    Also, the cashier suggested I buy grit. Do I mix this with their feed orfeed separately?

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Some people swear by medicated feed, others avoid it. It is available to me so I use it for a couple months then put them on non-medicated. I think the medicated protects from coccidiosis primarily. If you haven't opened the grit yet, you can return it and get your money back. Grit is necessary for grinding up grain in the gizzard but for chicks it need only be sand. I hate spending money for a couple pounds of sand. Find a sandbox somewhere. Sprinkle it on their food in an amount that would be like you salting your food. You don't need to necessarily mix it. As they get older they eat larger grit, usually finding it on their own as they scratch and peck. Much luck to you! :)

3. AbisChicks16

Sep 14, 2016
    South Florida
    Thank you! I still have 10 pounds of the medicated feed,so I'll continue with it. When I run out, I will give them the non medicated. [​IMG]

4. 3riverschick

3riverschick Poultry Lit Chaser

May 19, 2009
    western PA
    My Coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/891051/the-science-of-feeding-grit-to-poultry
    Good evening,