grit for chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by teach4fun, Jul 11, 2010.

1. teach4fun

teach4fun New Egg

Jul 11, 2010
    I'm a newbie. Our flock of 25 chicks are 6 days old. The instructions I read said to give them chick sized grit by now, but I can't find any. Then I read they don't need grit while they are just on chick starter. Can we use aragonite?
    Sue

2. math ace

math ace Overrun With Chickens

Dec 17, 2009
    Jacksonville, FL
    As long as you are only feeding chick starter - - no other foods or treats - - your chicks don't need grit.

I usually keep mine on chick start ONLY for the first 2 months because of the nutrition. Chick starter has higher protein for their little GROWING bodies. If you feed them something else, then they will eat less starter. Most of your supplemental foods are lower protein and therefore not as good for the chicks as the starter is.

3. woodmort

woodmort Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2010
    Oxford NY
    If you think you need to feed grit go to a pet store and get a small box of parrot grit for your chicks. Use sparingly and a little bit goes a long way--you won't need much before they will advance to the adult stuff. I just toss it on the floor of the brooder and let them pick it up as needed--don't put on top of their food since they will fill up on it. As the previous post says, as long as you're feeding starter you won't need it but if you toss in fiber stuff like grass etc, you should. If you free range your birds they should get enough dirt, sand, and pebbles to so they don't need your help.

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas