1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Grit in food / run etc..

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Matt66, Feb 18, 2016.

1. Matt66

Matt66 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 5, 2016
    Hello , I am a very new chicken farmer and trying to learn as much as possible as fast as possible to keep my 9 layers happy and catent . I am wondering how much grit is needed and how often ?? Is there such a thing as to much grit as well ?? Thank you in advance for your knowledge and support and as always have a great egg day [​IMG][​IMG]

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello and welcome to BYC!

Leave the grit out as free choice. They know how much they need and will pick through it as needed. Same with oyster shell for calcium. Some birds need extra calcium, some don't.

As for too much grit, as long as it is not sand, which if over eaten will cause trouble, tiny stones will pass right through them quick enough if they over eat them. If you have the nerve to look at their poop, LOL, sometimes you can see tiny stones that they have used or discarded through their system. Sand works as grit for younger birds not yet laying. Never offer sand to tiny chicks as they can over eat it thinking it is food. The bigger the bird, the bigger the tiny stones need to be for grinding food in the gizzard.

Enjoy your birds! :)

3. Matt66

Feb 5, 2016
    Ok , got it . Thank you for the quick reply , I will just leave a container of grit out with the food & water feeders for them to grab as they want it . I'm slowly learning but doing pretty well with my flock thus far hope it keeps going good for us and the flock. Have a great day !!! [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

4. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA