Grit or no grit?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Hiedi, Jun 2, 2008.

1. Hiedi

Hiedi Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2008
    Upstate SC
    Hi,

I have a question about whether to give grit to baby chicks or not. This is my first time raising chickens. I have heard many different opinions about this. My pullets are only three weeks old. For food, I am giving them Start & Grow (medicated) and also a very small amount of instant oatmeal, basically for treats only. I am starting to let them go outside some on warm days. I have noticed that they are picking up and eating some things in the grass, and they are also very interested in eating dirt. I am assuming this is normal. Will they pick up enough grit in the soil so I don't have to worry about giving them supplemental grit? Thanks in advance.

~Hiedi

2. RobinEgg

RobinEgg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2008
    They will pick up grit but I usually offer mine some grit , which is probably overkill or over cautious, but once they get outside and start eating things that need to be ground up , say bug legs, I like to be certain they have the grind power.

3. Hiedi

Feb 24, 2008
    Upstate SC
    Thanks for the information. The only grit that I have been able to find at pet stores has calcium in it. I was under the impression that calcium was not good for the chicks. The farm supply store has large 50 pound bags, but that is for older birds. The guy there told me the chicks do not need grit at this age, but other sources that I have read say to give grit. I called Purina Mills and the person there told me the Start & Grow (that I am feeding my chicks) does not have grit in it, and she also told me that the chicks do not need the grit right now. This is very confusing...

4. dacjohns

dacjohns People Cracker Upper