Grit question

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by stargazingmommy, May 13, 2011.

1. stargazingmommy

stargazingmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    Spokane
    Because I'm new at all this and don't want to hurt my little chicks I did pick up some grit, but I'm wondering how necessary is it if they are outside most of the day scratching around in rocky dirt eating it?

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    You are right, if they're outside and they have access to rocky dirt as you described, they will get their grit naturally.

Even inside, in a brooder, if you're just feeding chick crumbles, you won't need grit. It's when they begin eating other things that they will need some form of grit.

3. mcf3kids

mcf3kids Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    What sorts of things would require them to have grit? Another newbie here with 5 day old chicks - thanks

4. sharol

sharol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Admire, KS
    Just about anything except the crumble. veggies, scraps -- as I understand it, egg yolk and yogurt is ok without grit, but I smashed some pullet grit with a sledge hammer for mine last year (to get it smaller for them) and put it in the brooder when they were a week old. I wanted to bring in some grass for them, and I didn't want to take any chances. This year, I'm using sand in a dust bath for them so they will have some grit access. Tomorrow (2 weeks old) they will get a chunk of sod with grass.

Quote:

5. CowgirlPenny

CowgirlPenny Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2011
    South East TN
    I just have 600lbs of sand down in my 'teen' coop. It's great grit.

For my older girls, they are on a much larger run with dirt, rocks,etc. so I rarely give them any.

6. LilyD

LilyD Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2011
    Bristol, VT