Grit

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by 3girlschicks, Apr 13, 2009.

1. 3girlschicks

3girlschicks New Egg

Apr 13, 2009
    Im new to the chick thing. I just got 3 chicks, they are doing good, eating the feed & drinking water. I would lik to start giving them some treats but Im dont want to hurt them. Any suggestions on what I could give them? They are a little over a wk old. What is this "grit" stuff I keep reading about.

2. NWchickenLuv

NWchickenLuv Out Of The Brooder

Jan 31, 2009
    Bellingham WA
    They shouldn't get treats for a little while, a few weeks at least. I know chicken don't have teeth so they need the grit to process their food. However chick starter is really soft and cumbley so they don't need grit. Mine are 7 weeks and I plan on giving them yogurt this week... but you don't want to cause diarrhea by giving them too much extra stuff. They need all the nutrients in the chick feed.

[​IMG]

Here is a treat chart you might find useful: https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=2593-Treats_Chart

3. NWchickenLuv

NWchickenLuv Out Of The Brooder

Jan 31, 2009
    Bellingham WA
  4. finnleyjo

finnleyjo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2009
    My chicks are 2 wks old today. I started giving them treats last week. Not every day, and not much. They have had yogurt and a little left over hard boiled egg. I put in a little chick grit in their brooder a couple of times too.

If they were outside with a mama hen they would be eating little treats that she found for them so I'm not too worried about giving them a little treat here and there.

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Quote:Welcome to this forum. Get ready to meet some nice folks here.