grit?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by shoodakooda, May 14, 2010.

1. shoodakooda

shoodakooda New Egg

May 12, 2010
    Hi! Proud new owner of 7 almost 3 wk old RIR's. Just started giving them treats. how often should they have grit? free choice?
    Thanks!
    PS I am in love with my chicks!

2. NYRIR

NYRIR Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Petersburg,NY
    Hi...my 12 are rir's and in with 3 isa browns that are a week younger.I just started giving mine grit and they are 4 weeks.I read that if you start giving them more than just the chick starter they need it.I couldn't resist giving them treats so I started the grit yesterday.They seem ok this morning,they are all chattering away!

3. kybeagle

kybeagle Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2010
    I'm a newbie, do you just sprinkle the grit on their starter and if so, how much; or do you set out a seperate dish with the grit in it?

4. NYRIR

NYRIR Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Petersburg,NY
    I'm a newbie too but I put some in the starter and sprinkled some to "scratch" for.They like doing that [​IMG]

5. Mama&thePeeps

Mama&thePeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2009
    Tennessee
    I just use coarse sand in their 'dust-bath' bin and they eat at that when they need grit.

Of course, after their dust-baths they've shaken grit everywhere, so they scratch for it too.

6. MareeZoCool

MareeZoCool Chillin' With My Peeps