Gro-gel? Medicated or Non-medicated Feed

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by latebloomer, Feb 17, 2011.

1. latebloomer

latebloomer Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2011
    green mountain state
    Hi. I'm new to this and poked through several pages and didn't see anything these topics.

Read about something called Gro-gel. It's supposed to minimize dehydration in chicks.
    Anyone know about it?
    Recommend it/avoid it?

What about medicated or non-medicated feed?

Or brand recommendations for feed?

2. Kelsey2017

Kelsey2017 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2011
    Two Harbors, MN
    I have never used grow-gel, but always felt like trying it. They (the chick catalogs) really seem to promote it. I'll be watching for replies too. [​IMG] I also have never used medicated feed for my chickens, I never had any problems with cocci ( I think that is what it is medicated for) I did think about getting it for the turkeys though, so again I'll hang out here with you and watch for replies, if you don't mind!

3. Kelsey2017

Kelsey2017 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2011
    Two Harbors, MN
    As for brand reccomendations I have to say I feed Nutrena brand because I dislike the feed store mixes and I have to drive 35 miles to one with cruddy stuff or over 45 to the other one which is slightly better. I just found comfort in feeding something that seems more consistantly uniform. Also there is a small outlet at the greenhouse in town 7 miles away that sells it and they give you $10 off for every 10 bags of Nutrena feed you buy, so the horses and sheep get it too. i will try it on my turkeys and broilers this year too. I will be buying close to 10 bags every month this summer, hope the greenhouse doesn't catch on and repeal their good deal!

4. beausonge

beausonge Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2011
    Kelso, WA