GroGel vs Chick starter? or same thing?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by FombellClucks, Mar 16, 2011.

1. FombellClucks

FombellClucks Out Of The Brooder

Nov 22, 2010
    Hi all! I am new to this and have been spying on this site for a while now. Finally placed our eggs on March 6 and are doing the count down. I read for HOURS on how to incubate them and am happy to report I have seen "swimming" chicks in a few of the eggs I was brave enough to candle. I'm not brave enough to candle all the eggs just yet. Figured I would do that on day 18 and go from there.

So here's my question: After they are moved to the brooder (which is sitting and waiting for them) do I feed them the GroGel (flouresent green stuff) for the first 2 weeks then give the pelleted chick starter? And do I put the GroGel in the feeder with the mason jar or do I put it on a dish? I see a lot of posting about chick starter but I'm not sure what that's refering too. and when do I introduce grit? (I have all of these waiting on the little chicks)

Thanks for any help! And I enjoy all the wisdom everyone has and it has helped with many questions and fears I have had.

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Gro Gel is not meant to be fed as their regular feed. If I'm not mistaken, it's just a supplement to get them started. I've never used that at all and I really don't think you need to.

3. chickensbythesea

chickensbythesea Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2011
    Gro Gel is to help attract them to the food, and give them a boost to replenish energy lost in shipping, usually. Honestly, mine refuse to take to it, but my hens LOVE it when they're big.