ground cover for chickens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by pattyl110, Jun 17, 2011.

1. pattyl110

pattyl110 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 17, 2011
    I have 4 girls in Florida, I did not realize they liked ferns so much. In the area I keep the coup and let them run, they have eatean all the ferns, gone. Now I have dirt. I keep pine shavings in the coup, but outside was wondereing what I could plant for cover so its not all dirt.

Also, they are 4 months old, when should I really expect eggs?[​IMG]

2. chicklover16

chicklover16 queen of flirts

Jun 3, 2011
    Em's Dungeon
    I'm not sure about a ground cover, but I know that most hens start laying at about 24 weeks.

3. KFox

KFox Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    I am new to this so maybe someone else will have a better idea.

I let my chickens free range my yard. The yard is fenced in and I have shrubs, plants, trees, flowers and vegetable gardens. Anything I want the chickens to stay out of, I put little plastic or metal 12" things around. I got some plastic flower type borders from the dollar store. The girls could easily cross but they don't. I also give them things to keep them busy in the yard. I have cement blocks that I put treats on and around, old tree limbs for them to climb on and things like that. I also rearrange a landscaping timbers on concrete blocks (think balance beam) daily. Sometimes I make one side higher, sometimes I change the directions. Anyway, this keeps them out of my things. The sunflower garden makes it difficult for my ladies to contain themselves. I put tiny hooks on each side and hang shiny wind chimes. What chicken can resist the shiny? When it's pecked, it startles them and they run from it OR I hear it and catch them in the act.

Hope some of my ideas are helpful.

4. Mrs. K

Mrs. K Overrun With Chickens

Nov 12, 2009
    western South Dakota