Ground the bucket deicer or crispy chicken for dinner?

matimeo

Songster
9 Years
Jul 29, 2010
Oregon
I bought this deicer and it arrived today, just in time for sub-freezing temperatures tonight.
41OYSsfJqzL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/Farm-Innovato...1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1290481040&sr=8-1

The instructions say it that in a plastic bucket it needs to be grounded to a rod that is at least five feet underground. I'm no electrician, so I need some advice (in fact, I'm afraid to change the outlets in my house for fear of being electrocuted). I have a five gallon bucket with poultry nipple on the bottom. I suppose grounding is in case their is an electricity leak with the unit so the chickens don't get 250W right in the beak. Is it really necessary? Especially if it is in an outlet that is grounded? I also plan on using a 100 foot extension cord (only way to get it out to the coop). Probably a no-no, but can I get away with it? I wanted to install the unit tonight, but I don't have stuff on hand to ground it.

If it makes any difference, the extension cord is plugged into a grounded (three prong) outlet.

Thanks in advance for any sage advice.

Last edited:
Thanks! The link you provided indicates you can buy a portable GFI outlet, which I could use instead of grounding my whole watering setup. Or I could just install a GFI in my garage and run the cord from there.

I have a timer, a light, a fan and an AC unit all connected to my VERY long extension cord.

It should work.

No-No number 1: Do not plug any electrical device into an outlet that isn't protected by GFI if it is any where near water. Best case scenario is that you will electrocute your chickens. You can come up with your own worst-case.