Growing Black Soldier Fly Larvae for the chickens

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Tweeza, Nov 26, 2008.

1. Tweeza

Tweeza Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2008
    New England
    I'm new to chickens. Our's arrived Sept 5 as new borns. They are doing great!

I've had time today to read some posts and have notice a lot of posts on purchasing bugs for the chickens. I ran across Black Soldier Fly Larvae (aka Pheonix Flies), one day this past spring. They were in my compost barral (I'm new to that also). They became my fast friends as I'm not very good at composting and they were a tremendous help! I have since purchased a BioPod just to grow them for my chickens. They have great nutritional value and the chickens go nuts over them. I figure it'll pay for itself. I've sold some to a pet store but that didn't last long. Not many folks know about them and I guess wouldn't purchase them.

Here's a link: http://blacksoldierflyblog.com/black-soldier-fly-project/ Scroll down and look to the right for a video of a cute little girl feeding them to chickens.

If you are a handy person with tool and such, I have seen do it yourself ideas for homemade "growers." BSFL are very easy to grow and will eat anything you wouldn't want to feed your chickens. When I had them in my compost barrel, they would crawl out the little holes drill all around the sides and fall into a water pan. I would fish them out with a spoon every morning and sometimes evening. This was a pain and I'd sometimes need help from my kids because there were just to many and it would take me forever by myself.

There is a teacher at my daughters school that raises Florida Wood Roaches for his reptiles. He said he didn't have to worry if any escaped because the conditions weren't right for them to survive and start breeding. They need high humidity. I would bet the chickens would love them also.

Last edited: Nov 27, 2008
  2. Tweeza

Tweeza Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2008